May 10 Voter Registration Deadline Approaches

Posted on: Thu, 05/01/2008 - 10:01 By: cwhitmire


COLUMBIA, S.C. (May 1, 2008) - The State Election Commission wants to remind those not already registered to vote that they must register no later than May 10 in order to participate in the June 10 Republican and Democratic Primaries. As a reminder, voters who have moved to another county must register in their new county prior to the deadline in order to participate in the Primaries.

Voters needing to register to vote have the following options:

Update on Republican Presidential Primary Results

Posted on: Mon, 02/04/2008 - 15:32 By: cwhitmire

Results of the 2008 Republican Presidential Primary have been changed to correct an administrative error that occurred in the results reporting process. After the State Election Commission (SEC) certified the results on January 25, 2008, Horry County Election Commission notified the SEC that an error caused results from one precinct, Emerald Forest #1, to be reported incorrectly. The table below shows results from Emerald Forest #1 before and after the error was corrected. Results posted on this site have been changed to reflect this correction.

All Polling Places Opened at 7 a.m.; Voting Proceeding Smoothly

Posted on: Sat, 01/26/2008 - 11:24 By: cwhitmire


COLUMBIAS.C. (January 26, 2008) - All polling places across the state opened on time at 7:00 a.m.  Voting is going smoothly.  The State Election Commission (SEC) will continue to closely monitor the process throughout the day.

As South Carolinians continue to head to the polls throughout the day, the SEC would like to remind voters of several items:

Activist Group’s Efforts Create Potential for Voter Confusion

Posted on: Fri, 01/25/2008 - 16:48 By: cwhitmire


COLUMBIA, S.C. (January 25, 2008) - In light of an activist group's recent efforts to encourage voters to bring paper ballots with them to the polls, the State Election Commission (SEC) wants to make clear the rules for casting a ballot in Saturday's Democratic Presidential Preference Primary.

Presidential Primary FAQs

Posted on: Mon, 01/21/2008 - 18:25 By: cwhitmire


Q. What do I need to take with me to the polls to vote?

A. You will be required to show any one of three forms of identification in order to vote: voter registration card, driver's license, or a picture ID issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Voters Encouraged to Check Their Polling Places prior to Presidential Primaries

Posted on: Mon, 01/21/2008 - 15:34 By: cwhitmire


COLUMBIAS.C. (January 23, 2008) - To ensure everyone knows where to vote in the Presidential Primaries, the State Election Commission is encouraging voters to check their polling place location.

Voters may contact their county voter registration office to find their polling place.

Subscribe to